Architecture & Grounds
Completed in early 1909, Double Oaks is one of only a handful of surviving examples of Colonial Revival style architecture in the city of Greensboro. It was accepted into the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.
Its most distinctive feature is the bowed, two-story, Ionic portico which frames the front entrance and shelters a bowed, second-story balcony with a turned balustrade. Another remarkable feature is found in the series of eighteen original bowed glass window panes that accent the library, the music parlor, and the dining room. The driveway provides a formal entrance through a porte-cochère into the large parking area in the back, alongside the original stable and cottage.
Inside, the house features a generous center hall with a grand split-run staircase with molded handrails and turned balusters. The interior trim, including a handsome first-floor portal and eight mantels, remains completely intact. Pocket doors span passages in the first floor hall and front rooms. All eight of the original fireplaces are uniquely designed and still boast a combination of original solid and mottled tile work. Mechanical aspects, such as radiators and hardware, all remain original and in excellent working order.
The home is known as Double Oaks because of the two spectacular, sprawling oak trees in the front yard, both more than 200 years old. In the back, a striking Willow Oak and a row of Hemlock Cedars provide more shade. When weather permits, the wrap-around front porch, side porch, and large multi-level deck provide ample space for outdoor leisure.
The south side of the home includes a stepped-down brick patio with an arbor, a favorite site for weddings in particular. The landscape includes azaleas, hydrangeas, camellias, rhododendrons, and other flowering plants which add southern charm throughout the year.